With the release of the Government white paper on the three Commissions of Inquiry findings, one hundred and thirty one (131) officials alleged to be found wanting have been handed travel ban from leaving the country.

Prominent among these are ex-President Ernest Bai Koroma, Dr. Samura M.W. Kamara, Dr. Richard Conteh, Joseph Fitzgerald Kamara, Victor Foh, Professor Monty Jones, Minkailu Mansaray, Paolo Conteh, Dr. Kelfala Marah, Alimamy Petito Koroma, Kemoh Sesay, Alhaji Usman Boie Kamara, Finda Diana Konomanyi, Ambassador Henry Macauley, Dr. Sam Sesay, Bai Mamoud Bangura, and Frankly B. Kargbo

The release letter dated 28th September, 2020 from the Office of the Attorney General and Minister of Justice to the Chief Immigration Officer and Inspector General of Police respectively advised that persons named in the report are of interest to the Anti-Corruption Commission.
hence, they should not be allowed to leave the territory of Sierra Leone by land, sea or air unless they are first cleared by them.

The order from the Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Anthony Y. Brewah has sent strong signal that President Bio and New Direction is determined to implement all recommendations to the letter.

In the three reports, it was clear that the government is committed to eradicate corruption, mismanagement and indiscipline in the affairs of government as well as the recovery of all state assets and properties acquired through unexplained wealth and unjust enrichment.

The government white paper has made it crystal that all amounts due and recommended to be refunded shall be paid into the consolidated revenue fund of the government of Sierra Leone within ninety days from the date of the publication of the report together with the white paper.

The recommendations of the three COIs for those found wanting to be banned from holding public offices has been rejected by the government white paper, stressing that the focus is to recover the people’s money and not to restrain anybody from political participation.